in which Kitteh shrinks away oodles of fluff

Kitteh Fasts

So much to update, so little time.

Kitteh is not yet skinneh. (This cannot be a surprise, Dear Reader). Kitteh’s research has taken her to ketogenic diets and from there a short leap to intermittent fasting and the fine work of Dr. Jason Fung and Megan Ramos at the Intensive Dietary Management in Toronto.

More on all of that eventually. For now, let’s just say that this week, I started my first six week round of 2 fasts of 42+ hours each – I fasted from Sunday night to Tuesday dinner and then started again last night (Wednesday night) and will fast until tomorrow (Friday) dinner. On the other days, I am keeping to two 90-min eating windows and a ketogenic diet. So my week looks like this:

Sunday – fast until lunch, eat lunch and dinner. Begin fast.
Monday – fast
Tuesday – fast until dinner. Eat dinner.
Wednesday – fast until lunch, eat lunch and dinner. Begin fast.
Thursday – fast
Friday – fast until dinner. Eat dinner.
Saturday – fast until lunch, eat lunch and dinner.

For my first cycle of this, at the end of the first day (in the morning of the second) I lost 2 lbs. The second day, I lost another another 2 lbs and I FINALLY had blood ketones in the nutritional ketosis range, if barely, at .6/mmol. (I’m not testing as often as I would like, because those strips are pricey!).

After eating “normally” (as per above) on Wednesday, my ketones were still at .6 after dinner and (fascinating to me) I had gained back only .2 on the scale, which I am sure was the actual food.

I’ll check in after the full cycle with more results! I am excited to finally see ketones up above .5 for the first time – ketogenic diet alone  just was not getting me there. Too much metabolic damage, I guess.

Leave a comment