in which Kitteh shrinks away oodles of fluff

Starting Stats and Plan

Alright, ladies and gentlecats – we are off to the races.

In a way, July 29 is a weird time to do a re-boot. But I wanted to start on a Monday to give me maximum time to adjust while in the safe structure of my work day (weekend packeting is approximately one najillion times harder) and I didn’t want to wait until next week (which will be first days of school for both my bebe kittehs and full of its own kinds of stress, including an all new leave time that is earlier than their old get-up time–this after a summer of crazeh schedules and long breaks in other (earlier) time zones. 

Today, I weigh 308.2. 

Image

The frightening part about that is, I maintained in the 270s to very low 280s until well after Thanksgiving (November 29, to be exact, when I weighed 281.8 after pigging out for TG). Then I bumped up through the holidays but still maintained all winter/spring in the low 290s. It wasn’t until I decided to try other things – CNS, Paleo, etc. – that I suddenly ballooned back up. I literally gained 20 lbs since we moved – June 14 to July 29. Impressive, and also skeery.

Image

So, what is The Plan? Glad you asked. 

1. Packets. Packets, packets, packets. I am SO ready to be back in the Zone where food is just not that interesting and eating is just not that pressing. There is a slight mod, however–I am currently taking antibiotic (day 4 of 10) for a nasty, raging respiratory infection and it’s a twice a day double pill kapow of a medicine. It’s fine with L&G at night, but not OK with a packet. So I will be eating a PB Bar of my own making for breakfast until that’s over with (basically natural PB + vanilla protein powder). More fat (and somewhat more calories, and lower carb) than the standard MF packet, but enables me to take the meds without losing them. Not ideal, but quite frankly, that PB bar is not what is going to keep me fat.

Image

2. Water. Back to 154 oz per day.

Image

3. Vitamins – this is new, I was TERRIBLE about taking my supps when I was on MF before. I have since read Mastering Leptin and started taking AEP Calcium, DHA Omega-3 and antioxidants for inflammation and Pathethelene (sp?) as a metabolism booster. After about 2 weeks of taking them, I can say I have MUCH less inflammation and pain. I am  hoping that is not just coincidence!  

One caution here, though – that’s a lot to take with breakfast. May wind up prolonging the PB Bar breakfast indefinitely.

Image

4. Exercise. I just got a Jawbone UP band. Like it a LOT – gives a lot of feedback and information. Mastering Leptin inspired me as to how much MOVING will help burn off the “exhaust” that you create by burning body fat for fuel–yeah, they explain it better in the book, but that’s the gist. And I am noticing all over again a pattern I have observed before: people who make exercise part of their program are more successful overall. I think that’s PARTLY because it burns calories, and you get the elevated metabolism for long after it is done, but there’s also a mindset effect, a mood boosting effect, and frankly I think it helps psychologically because you see changes faster. So my plan is simple. The ML book stresses that CONSISTENT is way more important than INTENSE. I am not sure about how intense I can deal with right now and still be consistent, so I am adding in at least 4 one-mile WatP per week for now. I’m also tracking my steps outside of exercise, but not setting a goal there yet.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

5. Sleep. The UP band tracks sleep also. Makes it hard to pretend I am getting that 7 hours a night that I think I get. Really, I MIGHT spend a whole 7 hours in bed, if you count reading and so on, but most nights not even that. So I am setting a sleep goal of 7 hours a night, consistently. That may get bumped up when it gets consistent, but right now I am at like 6-6:15/night, so that will be a big improvement.

Image

6. Limit Alcohol. I am going with once per month for the next six and see how I am doing, and that will be limited to zero carb things. That will help keep me away from food at night, too–a drink (even a zero carb one) makes me munchie. It also keeps me from sleeping as well–I now have UP band proof of that, since it tracks deep versus light sleep and  you can TOTALLY see the effect of alcohol on my sleep pattern. With a drink, I fall asleep hard but then sleep fitfully for the vast majority of the night.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

7. Fast for 11-12 hours between dinner and breakfast. Again, from Mastering Leptin -and from my intermittent fasting experiment as well. It’s something I was doing more often than not when I was in the Zone before, but not consciously paying attention to at the time. This time, gonna be sure I hit it every time!

And that’s it, folks. The Plan!!  Can we do it? Yes, can can.

Image

Leave a Reply

