in which Kitteh shrinks away oodles of fluff

Four days hanging out at this weight. Ready for that whoosh.

So here’s an interesting mental evolution I have undergone in the last 6-7 months – and incidentally, further proof (if anyone needed it) that calories in/out is just not that simple (if not outright BS). My friend went with us to Disney – and I ordinarily would not tell a story about this kind of thing because she occasionally reads this blog and I’m always paranoid it will sound “wrong” somehow. But this time, the result is too interesting not to share.  So anyway, she was with me for most of a week, for virtually all meals, from Saturday through the next Friday. I didn’t really pay very much attention to what she ate, but I know she didn’t stay low carb (she had sandwiches and fries) and I know she ate ice cream at least on the two times that I did.  She came back 4-5 lbs heavier, I came back 11 pounds heavier.

She hit her pre-Disney weight today, I am still 2 lbs above mine. And (here’s the kick in the pants part): we had dinner together on Saturday night. She had a FEAST, including chips out the wazoo and cheese poured over her sour cream enchilada. I had 4 oz of salmon and roasted veggies, no butter. No chips. Not a single bite of cheese dip, even on a fork.

So I am thinking about this and noticing… I don’t really care anymore.

Or maybe I should say it like this: I DON’T REALLY CARE ANYMORE! Whippee Wahoo!

What I mean is, while I have obviously not stopped comparing my progress to other people, and while I can’t say that it isn’t collosally annoying to work harder for less results, the fact of the matter is, I know that my body WILL work, and WILL lose the weight. EVENTUALLY.

So… so what, you say?

Well, once there was a time when I would have had a giant pout about this and been mad and gone off plan. Later, I would have been sneakier about it – Lil Kitteh would have said in her most reasonable Kitteh tones that “so and so ate that and lost, so you should be able to, also” knowing FULL WELL my body doesn’t work like that. And later still, I would have said, “Well, your body doesn’t work that way,” only to encounter temper tantrum take two – but that’s not FAIR.

I can honestly say, I don’t care.

I’m happy for her (truly, I would have always been happy for her, that’s not the issue) and it is (for once) not tainted by the fact that I am not losing as fast. Fact is, I will lose when I lose – all that is in my control is sticking to plan. If other people are able to go off plan and still lose (or not gain, darn you DH!!) that REALLY DOES NOT affect what I have to do to get this weight off.

Oh, and I even noticed this HAPPY thing (which would have totally eluded me before): I came back with 11 (the day I got home) versus 5, but REALLY a week later, I was only up 2. So my body really was not that far off of hers in the long run – I just react so BIG to the extra carbs with the water/etc that it looks that way. Really, I was more or less on pace with her – and I am willing to bet that in a month, we’ll be back at parity (as far as the vacation goes).

Leave a Reply

