in which Kitteh shrinks away oodles of fluff

Kitteh travels

A work trip coming up – heading out today for a quick jaunt to a nearby city (close enough to drive rather than fly, but barely), for an afternoon meeting, a morning meeting, and a return trip less than 24 hours later.

So here is what I am thinking, as I pack up the things I will need for a single night’s sleep, a business meeting, and a drive back (which will not occur in a suit if I can avoid it):

First, I am so grateful to ME, my Big Kitteh, for saying NO to that Lil Kitteh who wants what she wants when she wants it – because thanks to some actual parenting (of myself) I am 37 lbs lighter – perhaps more – since the last time I visited this city. And although my NEW suit isn’t in yet (curses), my OLD (too big) suit is satisfyingly huge. I will be frustrated, no doubt, that i will be in baggy clothes, but it is SO NICE to not be worried about packing varous “foundation garments” and stressing about how hard it will be in suit and heels to walk between the hotel and the meeting site. It should be fun!

Second, I will miss my family like crazy – my husband because I got used to spending WAY more time with him last week while the kids were gone, and my kids because they were gone last week, and my nanny-best-girl-friend because she was OFF last week (well, in fairness, the kids were gone – I suppose this does mean I have to pay my friends to see them? LOL!) and I didn’t see her either.

Third, even though I will miss them all, there is a part of me that is SUPER excited about being back in this particular city with no one to answer to but me. This is the city in which I did college and worked and then returned for law school. It is really where I grew up into a growed up. πŸ™‚ It is my favorite place to visit, and I will have some downtime this afternoon to drift around and see old favorite places.

Fourth, a mix of 1 and 3 – I will be ABLE to drift around in this very walking oriented city, because I have lost 37 lbs!

And a random observation: this morning, I carried my loaded suitcase and APAP machine down the stairs. And it didn’t even hurt. I was thinking, wow, my knee is so much better. And then I realized – no, dumb kitteh – it’s just that this loaded suitcase and so forth is still NO WHERE NEAR 37 lbs!! You are STILL carrying A LOT LESS WEIGHT than you used to have when carrying nothing.

And that makes my heart smile. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

