in which Kitteh shrinks away oodles of fluff

Ever had one of those dreams that just lingers with you and affects your mood? I had one of those weird dreams last night. I tend to believe that SOME dreams (not all) are your mind’s way of telling you something – something you need to recognize in your waking life. So when I have these weird ones, I pay attention.

In my dream, I was at some kind of function that seemed to be related to a school, but I was there with my co-leader for ladies ministry and some other church people. We were there without our kids, but I seemed to have some sort of responsibility for watching OTHER kids, like a teacher kind of thing. The event was in some kind of a school, but very nicely done.

As I arrived, we were walking through several rooms full of people and tables that had loads and loads of food – hummus, breakfast stuff, piles of lean grilled chicken – lots of things I could eat.  We were making our way back to a back room to wait with the kids. Then I sat with the (nameless, faceless) kids while the other grown ups went back for food. They came back eventually and it was then my turn to go fix my plate. But when I got there, all the good and healthy food was gone. There were only platters left of mediocre sandwiches. So I was kind of mad, that they had taken so long that the food was gone, and that they hadn’t gotten me any of the good stuff, and I was walking by all the remaining platters trying to pick up SOMETHING to eat, and as I walked I started eating one of the sandwiches. And then I realized (a) I was eating the bread and I had already swallowed some and I was SO upset because now I would have to start over getting into ketosis; and (b) some of the people (there were many fewer, but still lots) were watching me walk around and look at the food and judging me for eating.

I woke up seriously pissed off.

So here is what I can say about that without looking up anything: right now, I have two close friends going through hard stuff. One has asked for my prayers, but both are getting them. I can’t really DO anything for either of them, but I feel like I SHOULD be. I am also in the throws of important kid birthday stuff, and work is very hot too. So I feel very pulled at right now. And if I reduce this dream to absolutes:

I was unable to take advantage of the healthy opportunties that I would have enjoyed, because I was too busy taking care of other people’s kids and other people’s responsibilities, and I was completely unappreciated for it. And when I found out that it had happened, I engaged in unconscious eating.

So then I looked some of the key elements here on dream dictionary. Interestingly,

Banquet
To dream that you are at a banquet indicates that you are emotionally malnourished. You are seeking emotional stimulation.

Sandwich
To see a sandwich in your dream suggests that a lot of pressure and stress is being put on you. It also reflects your ability to do two things at once. Alternatively, a sandwich is just a sandwich sometimes.

Children
To see children in your dream signify an aspect of yourself and your childlike qualities. You may be retreating back to a childlike state and longing for the past. You are trying to still satisfy repressed desires and unfulfilled hopes. Perhaps there is something that you need to see grow and nurture. Take some time off and cater to the inner child within.

School
To dream that you are in school signifies feelings of inadequacy and childhood insecurities that have never been resolved. It may relate to anxieties about your performance and abilities. ….
Alternatively, a dream that takes place in school may be a metaphor for the lessons that you are learning from your waking life.You may be going through a “spiritual learning” experience.

 

Pretty interesting… putting all that together, it seems like my brain is trying to tell me (symbolicallyl) that I am in the middle of a spiritual learning experience (which I certainly am, as far as feeding myself emotionally without resorting to food) and I still have some growing to do – meanwhile I am feeling emotionally undernurished from trying to do too many things at once, and that I need a break! Fortunately for me, spring break starts next week and my own personal kids are going to my mom’s for a week and I will “only” have to work. 🙂 I also think it is telling me to stop taking on other people’s burdens – appreciated or no, it leads to emotional stress and being emotionally malnurished.

 

Oh, and the best part for me? Waking up and realizing that I had NOT eaten a stupid bready sandwich, and that even in my dream, the sandwich wasn’t tasty or “worth it.”

Comments on: "Dream a Little Dream for Me…." (1)

  1. Excellent amusing analysis!

Leave a Reply

