in which Kitteh shrinks away oodles of fluff

That Tom Venuto guy had another great email today on “why they fell off the wagon” sharing  his theories of why so many new year’s resolutions are vapor before the Super Bowl.  I’m going to relist them here and ‘splain to Little Kitteh how we are avoiding those pitfalls:

1. No focus: you didn’t set goals, you didn’t put your goals
in writing, and or you didn’t keep your goals in mind daily
(by reading them, affirming them, looking at a vision board, etc.)

 Shrinkin Kitteh gets a gold star here! Goalz, I has ’em! My immediate goal is 299 or lower for a week. (For those interested, I am within 3 lbs of that right now on the New Scales!) And my next goal is 289 or lower for a week. And so on.

2. No priorities:  you may have set a goal, but you didn’t
put it on or near the top of your priorities list. For
example, your goal is six pack abs, but drinking beer and
eating fast food on the weekend is higher on your priorities
list than having a flat stomach.

 This is more an ongoing thing because your priorities shift throughout the year/month/week/day/hour… But yes, THIS is my biggest personal priority. Lower than being a good mommy and wife and lawyer, but higher than enjoying a glass of wine or food in the evening.

3. No support system: you tried to go at it alone; no buddy
system, training partners, family, spouse, friends, mentors
or coaches to turn to for information and emotional support
when the going got tough.

 I have you, Gentle Reader. Also, I have my Darling Husband. Also, I have my writing BFF. The rest is rather complicated but I have IRL friends, too. Fur realz. Kinda. 😉

4. No Accountability: you didn’t keep score for your own
accountability – with a progress chart, weight record,
measurements, food journal, training journal, and you didn’t
set up external accountability (ie, report to someone else
or show your results to someone else)

 I have this Blog, the TSFL journal, and TargetWeight. And did I mention DH?

5. No patience: you were only thinking short term and had
unrealistic expectations.  You expected 10 pounds a week or
5 pounds a week or 3 pounds a week, so the first week you
lost “only” 1 or 2 pounds or hit a plateau, you gave up.

 You shut up, Tom Venuto.  Well, actually, I have done pretty well on this one by saying HELL WITH IT, I AM IN THIS FOR THE CALENDAR YEAR. I don’t know that it helps with the unrealistic expectations – for instance, even as I type this I am wondering if I am skinny yet – but I am NOT giving up.

6. No planning: you winged it.  You walked into the gym
without having a workout in hand, on paper, you didn’t plan
your workouts into your weekly schedule; you didn’t have a
menu on paper, you didn’t make time (so instead you made
excuses, like “I’m too busy”)

 Ho, ho! Another gold star. Because I haz Strategery, too.

7. No balance: your diet or training program was too extreme.
You went the all or nothing, “I want it now” route instead
of the moderate, slow-and-steady wins the race route.

 Nope, not guilty of this one. If anything, I am the opposite – not working hard enough.

8. No personalization: your nutrition or training program
was the wrong one for you. It might have worked for someone
else, but it didn’t suit your schedule, personality, lifestyle,
disposition or body type.

Nope, that’s part of the magic of this year’s challenge for me – the year of Just Doin It – I have a diet plan that works perfectly. I have exercise that works perfectly. It all suits my schedule, personality, lifestyle, etc.

Venuto ends with flipping these around – says to succeed you just need to focus, prioritize, get support, be accountable, be patient, plan, balance and personalize.

I got this. Right?

Comments on: "How NOT to fall off the wagon" (2)

  1. QUOTE:
    “I AM IN THIS FOR THE CALENDAR YEAR.”

    Wow, I wish, but that’s not me. I just try to resist instant gratification for one hour or one day at a time. As the hours and days pass, the year will take care of itself.

    • Yeah, this is more of the same. It was not me either, until this year. In the past, I let my dedication be driven by the latest weight. As long as I was losing, I was enthused. By the time I had a few “bad” weigh-ins (meaning, not enough progress, let alone staying in place or showing a gain) then I was unmotivated and the lure of the immediate overwhelmed me. So this year, which is really just 52 weeks after all, I am not asking the question of whether I am making progress, how fast I am making progress, or whether it is “worth it” to do this. I am just taking a leap of faith. 🙂 Does that make sense? For me, and I am sure this is very personal, I have to take the “testing” out of it and say, give this eating right thing a chance. 🙂

Leave a Reply

